Friday, June 4, 2010

Chester's Best and Brightest Students Honored

Mike Robinson, Lisa Thomas-Laury and Mayor Butler
Rashaan Hollman and family

Lisa Thomas Laury, David Erfert and Mayor with scholarship winners
Chester, PA – On Wednesday evening, June 2, more than 350 people filled the banquet hall at the Ramada Inn for the Mayor’s 5th Annual Scholars Awards. Mayor Butler honored 91 Chester students for their academic achievements, outstanding community service and overall excellence. Along with proud parents, the students were joined by mentors, guidance counselors and teachers, along with administrators from the Chester Upland School District and the Chester Community Charter School. 
During dinner, guests heard from Dr. Gregory Thornton, Chester Upland School District Superintendent, along with other city officials, and also enjoyed inspirational remarks from keynote speaker, Lisa Thomas-Laury, 6ABC Action News reporter and co-anchor, who talked about the importance of friendship and overcoming barriers. Following the keynote remarks, each student was announced and called to the front to accept a personalized framed award certificate signed by Mayor Butler. 

Chester student honorees, grades 8-12, were selected through an application process, based on the following criteria: 3.0 or higher grade point average for three consecutive quarters; letter of recommendation from a teacher, mentor or community leader; proven outstanding community service; and proven collegiate attainment by seniors for fall 2010. 

Graduating seniors were also required to submit an essay about the most influential person in their life. At the end of the program, it was announced that three of the eight accepted seniors were the recipients of a $1,000 scholarship for their college education, sponsored by ConocoPhillips Trainer Refinery. Recipients include Martin Solomon - Youngstown State University, Portia West - Millersville University and Ronell Williams - West Chester University. Surprised and elated, the students came to the front to accept their scholarship. Pictured from left: Lisa Thomas-Laury, Martin Solomon, David Erfert (ConocoPhillips Refinery Manager), Portia West, Ronell Williams and Mayor Butler. 

The Mayor’s 5th Annual Scholars awards program, which was initiated by Mayor Butler five years ago, was sponsored by ConocoPhillips Trainer Refinery.

1 comment:

  1. On behalf of the Hollman family, we would like to send our sincerest appreciation to the Mayor and his staff for the beautiful time we had in celebrating the achievements of our loved ones (Jahsad Hollman and Rashaan Hollman) as well as all of the other recipients. It was a honoring moment to reflect on some of the good that this City has to offer and to show recognition to those who strive for excellence! Thanks for being a great encouragement to our youth!!